Tel 44 (0)20 7589 4325
Fax 44 (0)20 7589 4325
Email:[email protected]



Sidney Hall: Van Diemen's Land

Map: AUNZ2837
Cartographer: Sidney Hall
Title: Van Diemen's Land
Date: c. 1850
Published: London
Width: 16 inches / 41 cm
Height: 20 inches / 51 cm
Map ref: AUNZ2837
Large map of Tasmania divided into its 19 Police Districts. The disjointed red parcels of land in northwest Tasmania were granted to the Van Diemen's Land Company in 1826. The island's developing road network is marked, and so are many of the Inns which catered to travellers and settlers. The names of the landholders are also given in many areas, written in parentheses.

Sidney Hall's New General Atlas was published in multiple editions between 1830 and c.1860 by various iterations of the Longman firm of publishers. Editions after Sidney's death in 1831 were often updated by Selina Hall to show contemporary developments. This map has clearly been updated by Selina to show the division of the western half of the island, and therefore should be attributed to her rather than to her husband. However, as Selina made the conscious choice not to replace Sidney's imprint with her own, we have decided to follow suit whilst acknowledging her contributions to the map.

Original hand-colour. [AUNZ2837]